WEBCAST

Understanding the revisions to IFRS 17: Doing more with less

Session 1: Wednesday, 15 July, 2020

8:00am – 9:30am (EDT)

1:00pm – 2:30 pm (BST)

2:00pm – 3:30pm  (CEST)

Estimated CPE - 1 Credit

 

Session 2: Thursday, 16 July, 2020

8:00am – 9:30am (HKT)

9:00am – 10:30am (JST)

10:00am 11:30am (AEST)

Estimated CPE - No CPE

Webcast overview

With the International Accounting Standards Board (the Board) having issued Amendments to IFRS 17 on 25 June 2020 insurers want to understand the changes and what this means for their implementation projects. In our experience many insurers still have much work to do to be ready for 2023. Many, particularly in the current environment and the challenges presented by COVID-19, will be highly focused on cost containment.

This webcast will summarize the key amendments and their impact for implementation projects, discuss lessons learned from other complex change programs as well as discuss next steps and suggested activities that insurers should be doing now to meet the 2023 effective date efficiently. Following the webcast, participants should be able to explain at a high level:

  • The amendments that have been made to IFRS 17 Insurance Contracts.
  • Lessons learned to accelerate progress and enhance efficiency

Featured speakers

Mary Trussell

Mary Trussell

Global Insurance Change Lead Partner, KPMG International

Joachim Koelschbach

Joachim Koelschbach

Partner, IFRS Insurance Leader, KPMG Germany

Bob Owel

Bob Owel

Director, International Standards Group, Insurance, KPMG UK

India Preswick

India Preswick

Manager, KPMG International Standards Group

Meg Williams

Meg Williams

Global Insurance Accounting Change Manager, KPMG in Germany